Choose your channels

Breaking: Two new IPL teams announced by BCCI

Monday, October 25, 2021 • Tamil Sport News Comments
Listen to article
--:-- / --:--
This is a beta feature and we would love to hear your feedback?
Send us your feedback to

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has officially announced the inclusion of two new teams from the 15th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) with the cities of Lucknow and Ahmedabad being chosen as the final teams. The RPSG group and CVC Capital have won the bids for the Lucknow and Ahmedabad franchises, respectively.

While the RP-Sanjiv Goenka Group placed the highest bid of Rs 7090 crore, CVC Capital had the second highest winning bid of Rs 5166 crore. The BCCI had allowed a consortium of up to three companies/individuals to bid for a franchise. However, in the case of an individual or company, that particular entity's annual turnover should be a minimum of Rs 3000 crore and in the case of a consortium, each of the three entities should have an annual turnover of Rs 2500 crore. The bidding process for the two new IPL franchises began earlier today in Dubai with ten parties submitting their bids to own a team at one of the six cities, including Ahmedabad, Lucknow, Cuttack, Dharamsala, Guwahati and Indore.

With the confirmation of 10 teams for IPL 2022, the format will be similar to that of IPL 2011, where the ten teams will be divided into two groups of five. A random draw will be used to determine the groups and who plays whom across the groups once and twice. In the group stage, each team will play 14 matches facing the other four teams in their group two times each (one home and one away game), four teams in the other group once, and the remaining team twice.

Follow us on Google News and stay updated with the latest!