Choose your channels

Huge! Smriti Mandhana declared ICC Women’s Cricketer of The Year 2021

Monday, January 24, 2022 • Tamil Comments
Listen to article
--:-- / --:--
This is a beta feature and we would love to hear your feedback?
Send us your feedback to

India's swashbuckling opener Smriti Mandhana was on Monday named the ICC Women's Cricketer of the Year for the second time for her stellar run of form across all formats in 2021.

Mandhana, who also made it to the ICC T20 women's Team of the Year, pipped fellow nominees Tammy Beaumont of England, Lizelle Lee of South Africa and Gaby Lewis of Ireland to top the list -- the Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy, the ICC said in a statement.

The star batter grabbed attention with her impressive on-field performance. Smriti has scored a staggering 855 runs across 22 internationals at an average of 38.86 with one century and five half-centuries in 2021. The Indian T20 vice-captain is only the second Indian woman player to bag an ICC award after veteran fast bowler Jhulan Goswami, who was named the ICC Player of the Year in 2007.

The ICC Women's Cricketer of the Year award, instituted in 2006, was named after Rachael Heyhoe-Flint, the former England Women's Test cricketer and administrator, in 2017 upon the reintroduction of the category. Perry won the honour in 2017 and 2019 and took home the ICC Women's Player of the Decade award in 2020.

Follow us on Google News and stay updated with the latest!