Choose your channels

[VIDEO] Shakib Al Hasan kicks stumps, throws them away after argument with umpire

Saturday, June 12, 2021 • Tamil Sport News Comments
Listen to article
--:-- / --:--
This is a beta feature and we would love to hear your feedback?
Send us your feedback to

While playing for Mohammedan Sporting Club against Abahani Limited in the Dhaka league, a domestic Bangladesh T20 tournament, Bangladesh cricketer Shakib Al Hasan lost his cool at the umpire twice in the gap of two overs.

When the umpire turned down a leg before wicket (LBW) appeal, Shakib aggressively kicked the stumps, much to the shock of cricket viewers. Just an over later, Shakib uprooted the stumps and threw them on the ground after another altercation with the umpire, who called off the game due to rain after 5.5 overs. Shakib was apparently pissed off with the umpire for not letting them play another ball since the D/L method would have only come into effect had 6 overs been bowled. Responding to the incident, the all-rounder's wife said in a post on Facebook, "I’m enjoying this incident as much as the media is, finally some news on tv!"

She added, "It is great to see the support of the people who can see the clear picture of today’s incident at least someone has the guts to stand against all odds. However it is sad to see the main issue getting buried by the media highlighting only the anger that he showed. The main issue is the ongoing eye-catching decisions of the umpires! The headlines are really saddening. To me it is a plot against him that has been going on for a while to portray him as the villain in all circumstances! If you are a cricket lover beware of your actions!"

In a post on social media, Shakib Al Hasan apologized for losing his temper as well. "Dear fans and followers, I am extremely sorry for losing my temper and ruining the match for everyone and especially those who are watching from home. An experienced player like me should not have reacted that way but sometimes against all odds it happens unfortunately. I apologize to the teams, management, tournament officials and organizing committee for this human error. Hopefully, I won't be repeating this again in the future. Thanks, and love you all. SAH," he wrote.

Follow us on Google News and stay updated with the latest!