Choose your channels

Revanth Reddy as CM with 12 ministers to be sworn in

Thursday, December 7, 2023 • Telugu Comments
Listen to article
--:-- / --:--
This is a beta feature and we would love to hear your feedback?
Send us your feedback to

The imminent swearing-in of the new Congress government, led by Chief Minister A. Revanth Reddy, promises to be a monumental event, captivating the public at LB Stadium on Thursday at 1.04 pm. Following a strategic meeting in Delhi with eminent Congress leaders such as Mallikarjun Kharge, Sonia Gandhi, Rahul Gandhi, and Priyanka Gandhi, Revanth Reddy extended a warm invitation to the people of Telangana through an open letter. In his call to establish 'Indiramma Rajyam' on Thursday, he urged the community to grace the occasion with their overwhelming presence.

Originally slated for 10.28 am, the swearing-in ceremony was rescheduled to 1.04 pm to accommodate the logistical challenges faced by VVIPs and senior leaders from other states reaching Hyderabad by the earlier time. Post the oath-taking at LB Stadium, Revanth Reddy, opting not to form a complete Cabinet immediately, plans to have eight or nine ministers sworn in on Thursday. Although the Telangana cabinet's upper limit is 18, the initial induction is expected to be a more measured process.

While the Congress leadership has kept the Cabinet composition under wraps, speculations suggest Mallu Bhatti Vikramarka might be appointed as the deputy chief minister. Other anticipated ministerial inclusions encompass N. Uttam Kumar Reddy, Damodara Rajanarasimha, D. Sridhar Babu, Ponnam Prabhakar, Komatireddy Venkat Reddy, Ponguleti Srinivas Reddy, G. Vinod, Konda Surekha, Tummala Nageswara Rao, Jupalli Krishna Rao, and Seethakka (Dansari Anasuya).

The expansion of the cabinet is slated to occur after the election of the Speaker, with Revanth Reddy reportedly considering Tummala Nageshwara Rao for the post, although sources now suggest Gaddam Prasad Kumar might assume the role of the speaker.

In a day-long consultation with the party high command in Delhi, Revanth Reddy engaged with Sonia Gandhi, Rahul Gandhi, Priyanka Gandhi, AICC president Mallikarjun Kharge, AICC general secretary (organisation) K.C. Venugopal, and AICC Telangana affairs in-charge Manikrao Thakare, focusing on Cabinet formation.

Details regarding the exact number of ministers taking the oath alongside Revanth Reddy are yet to be clarified, with the disclosure expected on Thursday morning. Invitations have been extended widely, encompassing PCC chiefs from various states, AICC leaders, party presidents, and all 119 newly-elected MLAs. Notably, families of those who lost their lives in the Telangana statehood struggle have also been invited.

LB Stadium is primed for the grand event, accommodating nearly one lakh attendees, including Congress leaders and cadres. Three stages, with a main stage for the oath-taking ceremony and two others dedicated to cultural performances, have been set up. Giant screens outside the stadium will enable public viewing, ensuring widespread participation.

Revanth Reddy's decision to take the oath at LB Stadium follows the impactful tradition of former Chief Ministers N.T. Rama Rao and Y.S. Rajashekar Reddy. Emulating their predecessors, Revanth Reddy plans to sign the first file, implementing the Congress' Six Guarantees, on the dais. This move is expected to include specific timelines for realizing each guarantee, marking a significant start to his tenure. As a poignant commitment from his election campaign, Revanth Reddy is set to fulfill the promise of offering the first government job to Rajini, a physically challenged woman, during the swearing-in ceremony.

Follow us on Google News and stay updated with the latest!