Choose your channels

PM Modi gives mega elevation to Power Star Pawan Kalyan

Friday, June 7, 2024 • Tamil Comments
Listen to article
--:-- / --:--
This is a beta feature and we would love to hear your feedback?
Send us your feedback to

Prime Minister-elect Narendra Modi lauded Jana Sena Party chief Pawan Kalyan on Friday, June 7, describing him as a storm rather than a breeze, a reference to the meaning of Kalyan's name, Pawan.

At the NDA parliamentary meeting, Modi highlighted the actor-turned-politician’s impact, saying, “What you see in Pawan, he is not a breeze; he is a storm." This sentiment was echoed in a now-viral clip from the meeting, where Modi said, "Babu told me that it is an all-time historical mandate in Andhra Pradesh. This Pawan Kalyan is not Pawan but Aandhi (storm)."

The BJP leader addressed the elected MPs of the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) and emphasized the party's and its allies' performance in the recently concluded Lok Sabha elections.

NDA leaders, including N Chandrababu Naidu (TDP), Nitish Kumar (JDU), Eknath Shinde (Shiv Sena), Chirag Paswan (LJP-RV), H D Kumaraswamy (JDS), Ajit Pawar (NCP), Anupriya Patel (Apna Dal-S), and Pawan Kalyan (Jana Sena), attended the meeting along with newly elected Lok Sabha members from the ruling alliance.

“We are glad to note that for the first time, one of our representatives has emerged victorious in Kerala. We have been having a brilliant performance in Arunachal Pradesh," Modi said. "We have also almost registered a 'clean sweep' in Sikkim. In Andhra Pradesh, it is a historic victory. The way the NDA's vote share has increased in Tamil Nadu clearly shows what is in the offing," he added.

In Andhra Pradesh, the Naidu-led TDP won 16 of the 25 Lok Sabha seats, the Jana Sena two, and the BJP three, as part of a seat-sharing agreement.

Pawan Kalyan’s party also made significant strides in the Andhra Pradesh Assembly elections. The Jana Sena Party won all the seats it contested in the 21 Assembly and two Lok Sabha constituencies.

"In the last 10 years, we worked to make the country touch new heights of success. A common thing that exists amongst all the leadership pillars of NDA is good governance," Modi said.

Pawan Kalyan, in his speech, thanked Modi and Telugu Desam Party (TDP) chief N Chandrababu Naidu. "We want to see Modiji rule this country for 15 years and it's happening. Chandrababu ji, your prophecy came true. Modi ji, you truly inspire the nation. As long as you are the Prime Minister of the country, our country will never bow down to anyone," Kalyan said.

Much like his movies, Pawan Kalyan was the much-needed savior for the TDP and the BJP during the elections. Kalyan, also known as 'Power Star,' played a significant role in bringing the TDP and the BJP together to counter the Jagan Mohan Reddy juggernaut and achieve substantial gains in the Lok Sabha polls.

His efforts to forge an alliance between the TDP and the BJP began eight months ago when Chandrababu Naidu was jailed by the then YSR Congress government in connection with the alleged skill development scam. Naidu was in jail for over 50 days before the Supreme Court granted him bail.

When Naidu was in Rajahmundry Central jail, Kalyan stood outside after meeting Naidu and announced his intention to ally with the party, boosting the morale of the TDP workers. Later, Kalyan convinced the BJP to join hands with the TDP for the 2024 election season. After the BJP came into the picture, Kalyan compromised on seat-sharing, taking only 21 Assembly and two Lok Sabha seats.

Kalyan acted as the glue that bound the voters of the Kapu and Kammas communities in Andhra Pradesh to the TDP-BJP alliance. He also attracted young voters to campaign rallies and polling booths. His family members, including Varun Tej, Sai Dharam Tej, and Vaishnav Tej, campaigned for him in the Pithapuram Assembly seat.

In the 2024 Lok Sabha and Assembly elections, the Jana Sena Party won all the seats they received as part of the seat-sharing agreement with the TDP and the BJP. In the Assembly elections, the Jana Sena Party won all 21 seats it contested. The TDP won 135 seats, while the BJP bagged eight seats.

Jagan Mohan Reddy's YSR Congress was reduced to 11 assembly seats. In the Lok Sabha elections, the Jana Sena won the two seats they received as part of the seat-sharing deal. The TDP bagged 16 seats, while the BJP got three out of the 25 seats. The YSR Congress was reduced to just four seats

Follow us on Google News and stay updated with the latest!   


Welcome to IndiaGlitz comments! Please keep conversations courteous and relevant to the topic. To ensure productive and respectful discussions, you may see comments from our Community Managers, marked with an "IndiaGlitz Staff" label. For more details, refer to our community guidelines.
Login to post comment