Choose your channels

Lok Sabha to have 888 seats after 2026; Details inside

Thursday, December 10, 2020 • Tamil Comments

Lok Sabha to have 888 seats after 2026; Details inside

In 2002, it was decided by the Parliament that a Delimitation Commission will be set up after 2026 to decide on the delimitation of Lok Sabha constituencies across the country. As per this, the number of LS and Rajya Sabha seats will go up.

As per reports, the Lok Sabha is going to have 888 seats. At present, it has got 543 seats. As for RS, it is going to have 384 seats, an increase from its present total of 245.

The new Parliament building being constructed in Delhi will accommodate these many MPs. To be built at a cost of more than Rs 975 Cr, it will be ready by 2022. The new Lok Sabha chamber in the complex will accommodate 1224 members so as to facilitate joint sessions.

What are the new numbers going to be?

Andhra Pradesh is going to have 35 LS seats. It currently has 25 seats. Telangana will have 28 seats, an increase from 17. Southern States will not stand to gain much.

Uttar Pradesh will have 143 (up from 80), Maharashtra will have 84 (48), West Bengal will have 73 (up from 42), Bihar will have 70 (up from 40), Rajasthan will have 48 (up from 25), Madhya Pradesh will have 51 (up from 29), Karnataka will have 49 (up from 28), Tamil Nadu will have 58 (up from 39), Gujarat will have 44 (up from 26), so on and so forth.

Get Breaking News Alerts From IndiaGlitz