Choose your channels

How movie stars fared in Lok Sabha Elections 2019 results

Friday, May 24, 2019 • Tamil Comments
Listen to article
--:-- / --:--
This is a beta feature and we would love to hear your feedback?
Send us your feedback to

The Lok Sabha Elections 2019 has given Prime Minister Narendra Modi a second term in the office and his party has pulled of a landslide victory reducing the opposition to mere onlookers. As far as the contestants from the film industry are concerned the results are a mixed bag with some screaming winners and miserable losers.

Prakash Raj a fierce critic of Narendra Modi in the Bengaluru Central constituency managed only 26000 votes compared to his rival who got above four lakhs. Another high profile superstar Pawan Kalyan who stood in two constituencies lost both while former actress Smriti Irani won over no less an opponent but the Congress Chief Rahul Gandhi in Amethi. 1970s dream girl Hema Malini won from her Mathura constituency while her leading man in those days Shatrughan Sinha lost at Patna. Yesteryear heroine Sumalatha beat the chief minister of Karnataka's son to emerge victorious as an independent at Mandya

Closer home Manzoor Ali Khan who contested in the Dindigul constituency came fourth getting a respectable 28938 votes, Kavignar Snehan of Kamalhaasan MNM, contested in Sivagangai constituency managed to place in the fifth position with 22931 votes while comedian Powerstar Srinivasan who was not even in the news while campaigning managed 425 votes.

Follow us on Google News and stay updated with the latest!