Choose your channels

KTR: Never expected defeat of this magnitude

Sunday, December 3, 2023 • Tamil Comments
Listen to article
--:-- / --:--
This is a beta feature and we would love to hear your feedback?
Send us your feedback to

The Bharat Rashtra Samithi (BRS) has gracefully acknowledged its defeat in the Telangana Legislative Assembly Elections 2023, as the Congress party surpassed the majority threshold, securing a lead in 63 seats compared to BRS's 40. In the 119-member Telangana Assembly, where the majority mark is set at 60 seats, this marked a decisive victory for the Congress. Reacting to this outcome, the incumbent Telangana minister and Chief Minister K. Chandrashekar Rao's son, K.T. Rama Rao (KTR), expressed gratitude to the people of the state for granting the BRS two consecutive terms in office. Despite disappointment over the unexpected result, KTR conveyed a positive perspective, viewing it as a learning experience and expressing determination to bounce back.

In his statement, KTR congratulated the Congress party on its electoral success and extended his best wishes. He acknowledged the unanticipated nature of the result, emphasizing the need for a thorough analysis and evaluation, including a SWOT analysis, to identify and address shortcomings. Assuring a strong resurgence with renewed vigor, he dismissed notions of a Congress wave, pointing out that if such a trend existed, it would have manifested in other states like Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, and Chhattisgarh.

KTR affirmed the BRS's commitment to cooperating with the Congress government for the development of Telangana. He expressed gratitude to all the party workers and supporters, highlighting their acceptance of defeat. Additionally, KTR mentioned that in light of the electoral outcome, CM KCR had personally visited the Governor to tender his resignation. Emphasizing the inherent nature of victories and defeats in politics, KTR asserted the party's resilience, vowing not to lose heart or be demoralized.

It is known that Congress swept Telangana state which went to elections by winning 64 seats while BRS got confined to just 39 seats. BJP won 8 seats while MIM won 7 seats.

Follow us on Google News and stay updated with the latest!   


Login to post comment