Choose your channels

Irumbu Kuthirai Music Review

Irumbu Kuthirai Music Review
AGS Entertainment
Adharvaa, Priya Anand, Alisha Abdullah, Raai Laxmi, Johnny Tri Nguyen, Joshna, Jagan, Manobala, Devadarshini, Akshara Gowda
Yuvaraj Bose
Kalpathi S Aghoram
G.V.Prakash Kumar
- An entertaining OST from G.V
IndiaGlitz [Wednesday, August 6, 2014 • தமிழ்] Comments

Irumbu Kuthirai Music Review GV Prakash Adharva Priya Anand 
Atharva seems to be slow but steady in finding the right scripts to put his efforts. The teaser of 'Irumbu Kuthirai' is a classy one and G.V has experimented a bit to present something new from his bag. Lyricist Thamarai has shown her prowess once again and did a splendid job. The songs are out and here is our review.
Penne Penne - G.V. Prakash Kumar, Raja Bhavatharini
What a fantastic melody to start the album! G.V & Bhavatharani have come together for the first time and they take you to a dreamy land for 350 seconds. Lately, the composers are cutting down a min or two, and leave us wanting for more to melody tracks. But here, G.V has delivered a full fledged instant poison material which will make one to click the repeat button again and again. The Thamarai's lyrics go way out of adjectives.. 'Penne penne alaigiren.. anril aagi karaigiren'.. 'Saalai orathil poonthendral roobathil nee vandhaal naandhaane pullanguzhal'. The same pair mesmerized us with 'oru murai oru murai' in the past and they nailed it once again. It seems, the word, Penne Penne is becoming a favourite one for, G.V, and one could easily recollect his beautiful number starts with the same word in, 'Naan Sigappu Manithan'.
Ange Ippo Enna Seigiraai - Vijay Prakash, M.M. Manasi
From the world of melody, G.V takes us to the universe of Electronic beats. Once again, Thamarai did a fantastic job to pen down a likeable lyric to the new age beats. The song does carry the beep sounds of mobile, notification pop ups, and the composer tries to make something new from the sounds which we are used to hear everyday. Tune wise, the song is a good attempt, but the lyrics do not fit into the scheme of things.
Pondichery Vazhiyela - A.R. Reihana, Priya Himesh
The album ticks the much needed category, an item number. The song is an out and out, Reihana's show, and only she knows why she's not singing often. A wonderful foot tapping material consists of,  Guitars, Nadhaswaram, and Flute to bring that Friday evening mood. The pace of the album gets restored once again with this Kuthu genre.
Alaipaayum - Vijay Prakash, Andrea Jeremiah
It is so hard to see a singer crooning two songs in an album nowadays. With his spirited vocals, Vijay Prakash did everything he could do with this experimental electronic base tune. The first interlude deserves a special mention for its brilliant sound arrangements. Once again, it is, Thamarai who takes all your attention. Here's another sample, 'Puruvam irandum valaiyum idathil.. Pudhayal irundhalum poi illai.
Hello Brother - Ranjith, Suchitra, Priya Himesh
G.V gets a little playful here and came up with a dance/pub material composed with the famous chorus section in 'Unnai Azhaithadhu' from 'Thai Veedu'. Bappi Lahiri's innovative chorus section still sounds fresh even after 30 long years. Ranjith and Suchitra rocked their part to round off the album on a high.
Verdict - G.V. Prakash Kumar is on a roll and his recent releases carried some fabulous numbers. 'Irumbu Kuthirai' is definitely something different from his usual offering and this could well be his hat-trick too.
Pick(s) of the album - Penne Penne, Pondichery Vazhiyela, Hello Brother.