close
Choose your channels

IPL 2020: What would happen if a 2nd Super Over also ends in a tie? Details

Monday, October 19, 2020 • Tamil Sport News Comments

A thrilling match between Kings XI Punjab and Mumbai Indians last night left viewers on the edge of their seats as the Indian Premier League witnessed a second Super Over for the first time in the history of the league.

When both the teams finished with the same score of 5 runs at the end of the first Super Over, the match was forced into a second Super Over. With 12 runs needed to win in that final over, KXIP's Chris Gayle and Mayank Agarwal scored 15 runs off 4 balls, effortlessly leading their team to victory. As the audience got to witness a historic event at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium, a number of them were also left confused as to what would have happened if the second Super Over had also ended in a tie. Based on ICC's latest guidelines for T20Is, if the second Super Over in a match gets tied as well, unlimited subsequent Super Overs shall be played until a winner is determined. In case the following Super Overs are abandoned due to unforeseen circumstances, the match would have been declared a tie.

Other crucial rules involving a tied Super Over are as follows -

- Any batsman dismissed in any previous Super Over shall be ineligible to bat in the following Super Over.

- Any bowler who bowled in the previous Super Over shall be ineligible to bowl in the subsequent Super Over.

- In all other ways the procedure for a subsequent Super Over shall be the same as for the initial Super Over.

In last night's match, this meant, KL Rahul, Nicholas Pooran and Quinton de Kock, who were all dismissed in the first Super Over, were not eligible to bat in the second Super Over. Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammed Shami, who bowled for their respective teams in the first Super Over, were ineligible to bowl in the subsequent one.

Get Breaking News Alerts From IndiaGlitz