Choose your channels

Shocking news for IPL 2020 franchises

Wednesday, March 4, 2020 • Tamil Comments

Shocking news for IPL 2020 franchises

The IPL 2020 the grandest cricketing spectacle on earth gets underway on March 20th when hosts Mumbai Indians take on Dhoni's Chennai Super Kings at the Wankhede Stadium with the finals to be played on May 24th. Even as fans are gearing up to watch the events on the sixty-odd matches on grounds and the telly tube there have been changes announced. For one there will only be four double headers and all the other days will have only one match which is being tried for the first time.

Meanwhile the franchises are also in for a shock of sorts as BCCI has sent circulars to all eight outfits Chennai Super Kings, Delhi Capitals, Kings XI Punjab, Kolkata Knight Riders, Mumbai Indians, Rajasthan Royals, Royal Challengers Bangalore and Sunrisers Hyderabad informing that the prize money has been cut from rupees twenty crores to ten crores.

The BCCI's statement reads "The financial rewards have been reworked as a part of the cost-cutting measures. The champions will get Rs 10 crore instead of Rs 20 crore. The runners-up will get Rs 6.25 crore from earlier Rs 12.5 crore and the two losing qualifiers will now get Rs 4.3 crore each. The franchises are all in good health. They also have multiple ways like sponsorships to bolster their income. Hence the decision on prize money taken".

The reactions of the franchise owners to this circular is unknown at the time of this writing and we will update you on the same later.

Get Breaking News Alerts From IndiaGlitz