Choose your channels

Erra Bus Music Review

Erra Bus Music Review
Taraka Prabhu Films
Dasari Narayana Rao, Vishnu, Catherine Tresa, Nasar, Brahmanandam, Murali Mohan, Krishnudu, MS Narayana Rao, Raghu Babu, Ali, Suriya, Kasi, Hema, Anitha Nath, Surekha Vani, Srilakshmi, Jaya sheela, Ashok Kumar
Dasari Narayana Rao
Dasari Narayana Rao
A pleasant rip-off
Monday, November 3, 2014 • Telugu Comments

Chakri's latest album is for a film with diversified star cast.  As such, he changes his style for this one and the change is welcome.

Bhaskarabhatla, Karunakaran and Suddala write good lyrics, whereas Dasari himself entertains.

Ey Challagaali Challagaali

Artists: Venu Srirangam, Shravana Bhargavi
Lyricist: Bhaskarabhatla Ravikumar

The song has a rustic feel running through its veins.  The folksy flavour is enjoyable and the same seems to be in tune with the title and the landscape in which the film is set up.  Bhaskarabhatla Ravikumar's pen follows his style of lacing a song with poetic imagination.  The romantic number has good vocals by Venu and Shravana Bhargavi.  Chakri's music is endearing sans too many influences.

Ontariga Nuvvunte

Artists: Vijay Yesudas
Lyricist: Dasari Narayana Rao

The sentimental lyrics by Dasari Narayana Rao are heart-touching and they are easily a throwback to his style of touchy directorial style of the yesteryears.  Vijay Yesudas' excellent rendition is ably supported by Chakri's tuning which prevents it from seeming oldish.

Om Namo Namo

Artists: Simha
Lyricist: Bhaskarabhatla Ravikumar

Bhaskarabhatla's lyrical style comes into its own yet again in this song.  The number has got an unmistakable smell of an endearing rustico and folksy acoustics from Chakri.  Chakri gets Simha deliver a different vocal stroke and this makes the number a complete one.  Although the music is not inventive, Om Namo Namo passes muster.

Ayyo Ayyo Thatayya

Artists: Suswara, Jaswira, Madhura Swara
Lyricist: Karunakaran

Delivered by juvenile voices, this song is refreshing.  Karunakaran pens the lyrics in such a way that the language is not juvenile but the persona of the grandpa the song talks about is what children like.  Chakri chips in with light music.  Suswara, Jaswira, Madhura Swara deliver good vocals.

Navvamma Thalli Navvamma

Artists: MM Keeravani
Lyricist: Suddala Ashok Teja

Keeravani's vocals are apt for this number with a strong Dasari dose.  The sentimentalism works find what with Suddala Ashok Teja penning simple but evocative lines that are easy to understand but touch profoundly.  Chakri tries his hand at conventional music and comes out with flying colours.  Although it is sure to sound nothing modish, the change is refreshing for once.

Aakasana Puduthadu

Artists: Vijay Yesudas
Lyricist: Dasari Narayana Rao

The profound lyrics by Dasari are heart-rending.  Lines like '.. thatayya antadu' come with a deep meaning.  The song is an enhanced version of the 'Ontariga Nuvvunte' number.  Vijay Yesudas's masterly vocals are the number's soul.  Chakri learns his lessons from the Maestro and Keeravani.

Verdict: A good album that is definitely not in the typical Chakri mould.  Enjoyable for its various genre of songs.  If the singers are apt, the lyricists are even better.

Rating: 3.25/5