Choose your channels

Eega and 'Gabbar Singh' Dominate Filmfare 2012 Telugu

Monday, July 22, 2013 • Telugu Comments
Listen to article
--:-- / --:--
This is a beta feature and we would love to hear your feedback?
Send us your feedback to

The Filmfare awards South organized in Hyderabad was a gala affair as usual but there were some special relationships formed. One such was a dual 'Best Actress' award for Samantha in Telugu and Tamil, a code one could crack after Revathi did it in 1992 for Ankuram in Telugu and 'Thevar Magan' in Tamil. Smantha achieved this feat for 'Eega' in Telugu and 'Neethaane En Ponvasantha' in Tamil.

The Telugu segment of the awards was dominated by two films 'Eega' with five awards and 'Gabbar Singh' with three. Eega bagged Best Actress (Samantha), Best Film, Best Director (SS Rajamouli), Villain (Sudeep) and Special Effects awards while 'Gabbar Singh' followed with Best actor (Pawan Kalyan), Best Music Director (Devi Sri Prasad) and Male singer (Vaddepalli Srinivas - Pilla Nuvvu leni jeevitham) awards.

The other awards include: Amala - Supporting actress for 'Life Is Beautiful'; Anant Sriram - Lyricist for 'Yeto VellipOyindi Manasu'; Suchitra - Female singer for 'Sarostaaru..' in Businessman; Chota K Naidu - Cinematographer for 'Dhamarukam'; Johny - Choreographer 'Rachcha';

Ace director Bapu and Singer 'Vani Jayaram' were felicitated with 'Life Time Achievement' awards.

The auditorium was graced by guests like AR Rahman, Nagarjuna, Venkatesh, Ram Charan, Naga Chaitanya, Rana, Tamanna, Sruthi Haasan, Priyamani, Amala Paul etc.

Follow us on Google News and stay updated with the latest!