Choose your channels

Bhaggmati - The Queen of Fortunes Music Review

Bhaggmati - The Queen of Fortunes Music Review
Milind Soman,Tabu,Hema Malini,Tariq Shah,Shoma Anand,Ashok Kau
Ashok Kaul
Zee Telefilms.
Vishal Bharadwaj
Quite an average soundtrack
Thursday, August 18, 2005 • Hindi Comments

There are some film-makers who go by the formula whereas there are a select few who defy all boundaries in an attempt to do something different. Debutant director Ashok Kaul is one of them. With a background in filmmaking in his career [he was the production controller of number of RK films like Ram Teri Ganga Maili, Henna, Prem Granth], he is not a novice to the world of Bollywood. With 'Bhagmati - The Queen Of Fortunes', he aims at realizing his long cherished dream of coming up with an experimental film. This Tabu-Milind Soman starrer is a half animated-half live take on an age old fable and also stars Hema Malini in a special song'n'dance appearance. In the making for quite some time and now finally ready for a release, 'Bhagmati - The Queen Of Fortunes' has music by Vishal Bhardwaj and Ravindra Jain [who himself was a regular composer with RK films].

1) Jiya Jaye Amma  [Singers: Asha Bhosle, Roop Kumar Rathod, lyricist: Nida Fazli]

A fairly enjoyable track, this Asha Bhonsle sung track is mischievous and sensuous in turns and has Tabu in her ethnic best while she wears a 'ghaghra-choli'. A dance number with a traditional touch, it has a good pace that sets your feet tapping. There is Roop Kumar Rathod too joining the track but its a brief appearance.

2) Ishq Abhi Tak Zinda Hai [Singers: Fareed Sabri Jaipuri, Vinod Sehgal, lyricist: Nida Fazli]

A 'qawalli' track, it is situational and the promotion for it is already on the air. A song set for the lead protagonist who is isolated from the rest of the world, it conveys the message of hope. Not much different from dozens of qawalli tracks heard before those have belonged to a similar genre, it is just about passable and is sung by Fareed Sabri Jaipuri and Vinod Sehgal.

3)  Suraj Ki Aag Mein [Singers: Roop Kumar Rathod, Sujata, lyricist: Jaideep]

Some interest is revived in the album with the melodious romantic track 'Suraj Ki Aag Mein' that has a classy feel to it. A soft number, it is quite slow in terms of pace but still can be heard for its sheer melody. Again, this track sung by Roop Kumar Rathod and Sujata is not going to set the charts ablaze but as a stand-alone number deserves to be given a few hearings.

4) Falsafi O Falsafi [Music, lyrics, singer: Ravindra Jain]

By now one is sure that the music of 'Bhagmati' is not one of those conventional ones that we have been hearing for ages. But inspite of that, the kind of songs that continue to appear in the album is hardly anything that would make one jump with joy. Same is with the case of 'Falsafi O Falsafi' that takes you back in time by decades but still doesn't make a great impression. A situational track that may work for a select few, it has veteran Ravindra Jain taking care of everything from music, lyrics to singing.

5) Alvida [Music, lyrics, singer: Ravindra Jain]

Again a situational number, 'Alvida' too adds in much for an audience to look forward to the album of 'Bhagmati'. The only positive part of the track is that it maintains the feel of the period in which the movie is set but that's about it. A song about separation, it fails to get noticed.

6) Meri Jaan [Singer: Rekha Bhardwaj, lyrics: Dr. Bashir Badr]

A song'n'dance sequence for which Hema Malini makes a special appearance, it is special for the movie as it has only Hemaji as a live character whereas everything else from the group dancers to the sets is animated. Rekha Bhardwaj renders this semi-classical track quite well which should be an added attraction for the movie. This is one of the better composed songs in the album.

7) Kaise Kahan Kab [Singer: Suresh Wadekar, lyrics: Abbas Tyrewala]

Yet another melodious track aft